Skip to main content

Colorado Mesa University is committed to making higher education affordable. Starting Fall 2024 the CMU Promise guarantees that qualified undergraduate students from the 22 counties of the Western Slope or the three regional Ute Tribes can attend Colorado Mesa University and CMU Tech tuition free. 

22 Qualified Counties

Eligibility Requirements

  • Completed FAFSA/CASFA
  • Colorado resident from one of the approved 22 western slope counties
    • Moffat, Rio Blanco, Garfield, Mesa, Delta, Montrose, San Miguel, Dolores, Montezuma, La Plata, San Juan, Ouray, Routt, Eagle, Pitkin, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jackson, Archuleta, Grand, Summit, and Lake
  • OR a member of one of the three Ute Tribes
    • Southern Ute, Mountain Ute, and Uintah-Ouray
  • For families with an offical combined Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) of $65,000 or less
  • No additional application required
    • Residency will be based on Admissions Application
  • Pursuing a financial aid eligible undergraduate degree (Certificate, Associates or Bachelors) 
  • For students who do not have a prior Bachelor's degree 


This program uses a combination of federal, state and institutional funds to pay qualified student's tuition. This program will be included in qualifying students financial aid packages as the last dollar in. Meaning once programs like the Pell Grant, Colorado Student Grant or CMU Merit Scholarships are factored in, CMU Promise will make up the difference up to the cost of undergraduate tuition.