Skip to main content

Founded in 1925, Colorado Mesa University is a comprehensive regional public higher education institution offering liberal arts, professional, and technical programs at the master's, bachelor's, associate and certificate levels.

At Colorado Mesa, we take great pride in providing educational opportunities and tools that help students succeed in today's complex and interconnected world. Our focus is on providing quality academic programs, built on a strong liberal arts core that support students' interests and regional employment needs, as well as technical programs that respond to vocational workforce demands.

Colorado Mesa is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Our Students

Colorado Mesa University has an enrollment of nearly 11,000 with 14% of the university's student body coming from outside Colorado. The student population is 46% male, 54% female and 29% from traditionally underrepresented groups. The vast majority of students are traditional-aged students and enrolled in full-time study. Many students attend college while also working and caring for families, and Colorado Mesa is proud to offer evening, online and distance education classes that allow non-traditional and working students the opportunity to further their educational attainment and advance in their professions.

Our Faculty

The core of the university is our 323 full-time academic and technical faculty members from 13 departments. Additionally, a team of 345 carefully selected scholars and professionals serve as part-time instructors. Our faculty creates an environment designed to foster a dynamic exchange of ideas. In addition to teaching, professors serve as academic advisors and collaborate with hundreds of students each year in challenging undergraduate research programs - an experience often found only in graduate programs.

Our Campuses

Colorado Mesa's main campus encompasses 141 acres in the heart of Grand Junction, Colorado. Nestled between mountains and high-desert canyons, the area is home to some of the best outdoor recreation in the country and enjoys 300+ days of sunshine a year.

The Tilman M. Bishop Campus is the result of a partnership of the University, Mesa County Valley School District 51, and area businesses and is the main site of Colorado Mesa's two-year division: Western Colorado Community College. Programs at the Bishop Campus serve the technical education needs of both college and area high school students.

Located at the base of the beautiful San Juan Mountains, the Montrose Campus of Colorado Mesa provides access to a variety of associate and bachelor degree programs in a scenic, smaller community campus setting.


Colorado Mesa University has a strong winning tradition as a member of the NCAA Division II and Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. The Mavericks have more than 90 conference and regional titles. Currently 28 Colorado Mesa teams compete in intercollegiate varsity sports. CMU offers more than 700 student-athletes the opportunity to earn a degree while competing at a top Division II institution.

CMU boasts some of the finest facilities in the conference in its recently renovated athletic offices, field house, practice fields and brand new El Pomar Natatorium.

Institutional Mission Statement

Committed to a personal approach, Colorado Mesa University is a dynamic learning environment that offers abundant opportunities for students and the larger community to grow intellectually, professionally, and personally. By celebrating exceptional teaching, academic excellence, scholarly and creative activities, and by encouraging diversity, critical thinking, and social responsibility, CMU advances the common good of Colorado and beyond.

Statutory Role and Mission

Colorado Mesa University serves the citizens of Colorado, in general, with a specific emphasis on increasing the level of educational attainment of residents in its 14-county region in western Colorado. Colorado Mesa University's mission, established by the Colorado Legislature, is contained in Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) 23-53-101:

"There is hereby established a college in Grand Junction, to be known as Colorado Mesa University, which shall be a general baccalaureate and graduate institution with selective admission standards. Colorado Mesa University shall offer liberal arts and sciences, professional and technical degree programs and a limited number of graduate programs. Colorado Mesa University shall also maintain a community college role and mission, including career and technical education programs. Colorado Mesa University shall receive resident credit for two-year course offerings in its commission-approved service area. Colorado Mesa University shall also serve as a regional education provider."

In accomplishing its mission, the commission-approved (CDHE) service areas are:

  • For its role as a baccalaureate and graduate institution - the entire State of Colorado.
  • For its role as a community college - Mesa, Delta, Montrose, San Miguel, and Ouray Counties. (The University cooperates with Adams State College in providing two-year programs for Gunnison and Hinsdale Counties.)
  • For its role providing vocational programs - Mesa County.