Skip to main content

At any given moment it is the people who define and make up the CMU Art and Design Department. We are a community of artists comprised of students, faculty and alumni.

Faculty members are professionally active in their fields and routinely create art, present, exhibit, research, publish and lecture within their areas. We have diverse educational backgrounds each with unique skills, scholarly artistic approaches and new ideas that we readily share with our students.

As artists we are not only committed to creating art as a scholarly practice, but in sharing that scholarly experience in our classroom. You can explore and learn about some of our unique talents in the links below.

If you need to declare a major or be assigned a faculty advisor in the Art and Design Department, please contact Ashtonn Means in Fine Arts 200, call 970.248.1833, or email ameans@coloradomesa.edu.

Joshua Butler
Professor of Art
View profile
Evan Curtis
Assistant Professor of Art - Animation and Digital Filmmaking
View profile
Eric Elliott
Associate Professor of Art - Painting and Drawing
View profile
Suzie Garner
Department Head, Professor of Art
View profile
Eli Hall
Associate Professor of Art - Graphic Design
View profile
KyoungHwa Oh
Associate Professor of Art - Ceramics
View profile
Araan Schmidt
Associate Professor of Art
View profile
Forrest Zerbe
Instructor of Art
View profile

Art & Design Instructors & Lecturers 

Bair, Lyn
Art History
FA 313G
lbair@coloradomesa.edu


Cain, Lily
2D Design
FA 313F
lcain@coloradomesa.edu


Coburn, James
Art History
HH 114B

Crocetto, Julia
3D Design, 2D Design, Art Appreciation
FA 112

Day, Erik
Animation
FA 313C

Dearing, Robin
Art History
rdearing@coloradomesa.edu


Douglas, Tammy
2D Design
313G
tdouglas@coloradomesa.edu 

Gustafson, Jeffrey
AFP&MD
313G
jgustafson@coloradomesa.edu


Humphrey, Sam
K-12 Art Education
shumphre@coloradomesa.edu


Kwon, Kevin
2D Design
FA 313C
ckwon@coloradomesa.edu


Jones, Matthew
Graphic Design
FA 313F
djones3@coloradomesa.edu

Marin, Janice
Art Appreciation
jmarin@coloradomesa.edu


Miley, Robyn 
Web Design
FA 313C
rmiley@coloradomesa.edu


Osborne, Aaron 
Graphic Design 
LHH 205
aosborne@coloradomesa.edu


Pechon, Trent 
3D Design and Sculpture
FA 112
tpechon@coloradomesa.edu


Pickett, Jeffrey
Animation
313G
jpickett@coloradomesa.edu

Purdy, Jonathan
2D Design
FA 313C
jpurdy@coloradomesa.edu


O'Quinn, Leisha
Art History
loquinn@coloradomesa.edu


Safken, Brooke
Graphic Design and AFP&MD
FA 313F
bsafken@coloradomesa.edu


Seeds, Matthew
3D Design
FA 112

Woods, Rebecca
2D Design, Foundation Drawing
FA 313G
rwoods@coloradomesa.edu

Wyman, Kari
Art History
FA 313G
kwyman@coloradomesa.edu