Skip to main content

cic_lock-up_1819.jpg

Mission Statement:

The Cultural Inclusion Council (CIC) strives to promote equity and inclusion on campus and in the surrounding community by hosting educational and promotional events, connecting students to support services and promoting open dialogue that allows individuals to better understand one another.

Want to be a member?

To join any of the alliances affiliated with Cultural Inclusion Council, stop by their offices on the second floor of the University Center in Student Life. You don't have to be of a particular culture to join an alliance — anyone is accepted and welcomed in any alliance. 


Cultural Inclusion Council

The CIC consists of six different cultural alliances:

Black Student Alliance

Coordinator: Anastaja Braden abraden@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant Coordinator: Aaron Reed
 awreed@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Genders & Sexualities Alliance

Coordinator: Taylor Rubalcaba trubalcaba2@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant Coordinator: Position Available

Ho'olokahi Polynesian Alliance

CoordinatorKase Oshiro 
cmshimamura@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant CoordinatorKu'umakanaaloha Tavita 
krtavita@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

International Student Alliance

CoordinatorGrace Oberschmidt 
geoberschmidt@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant Coordinator:Jabari Anthony
jcanthony@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Latino Student Alliance

CoordinatorYulisa Velazquez 
ybvelazquez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant Coordinator: -Pending Hire-

Native American Student Association

Coordinator: Jacey Tsosie mdtsosie@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

Assistant Coordinator: -Pending Hire- 

 

 

 

 

culturalinclusioncouncil@coloradomesa.edu

 

CIC Director    

Cy Shimamura

cmshimamura@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

CIC Assistant Director    

Mahlet Mamo

mmmamo@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

CIC Communications Director    

Nayeli Hernandez

nhernandez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

CIC Staff Advisor    

Ta'Lor Jackson

tjackson@coloradomesa.edu