Skip to main content
Menu
Western Colorado's Selective University

Student Leadership

New and returning members are encouraged to direct questions to the appropriate student leader listed below.

2017 Leaders

CAPTAINS

PHONE
EMAIL
Drum Major &
Band Captain
Darcy Dackonish
(970) 589-6657
ddackonish@gmail.com
Drum Major &
Visual Captain
Gabe Gallegos
(970) 250-3305
ggallegos2@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
 
 
 
 

MANAGERS

Facilities
Tori Welch
(720) 402-8305
Instrument
DeDe Mendez
(208) 954-4168
Uniform 
Payton Trahnstrom
(307) 349-2940
pltrahnstrom@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Uniform (asst.)
Sara Jurca
(970) 596-3375
sejurca@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Data 
Sadie Wagner
(720) 833-1363 
mswagner@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Music
Emily Axtell
(303) 906-9507
ejaxtell@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Media
Damian Johann
(970) 623-9058
damianjohann@gmail.com

SECTION LEADERS

Guard
Hannah Tallo
(970) 417-1340
Hannahlynnelizabeth@gmail.com
Flute
Kristen Solero
(719) 272-1929
kristen_solero@hotmail.com
Clarinet
Celeste Tovar
(970) 987-0905
ctovar-guzman@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Alto Sax
Shayna Lindblom
(970) 596-5314
shayna.lindblom@outlook.com
Tenor Sax
Damian Johann
(970) 623-9058
damianjohann@gmail.com
Trumpet
Noah Graf
(970) 773-1982
noah.fgraf@gmail.com
Trumpet
Caleb Talkington
(970) 985-1130
calebtalkington@yahoo.com
Mellophone
Brian Peterson
(720) 237-1139
brianp1997@hotmail.com
Trombone
Liz Wigdahl
(303) 748-0659
emwigdahl@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Baritone
DeDe Mendez
(208) 954-4168
dmendez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Sousaphone
Logan Jansens
(720) 315-3954
lmjansens@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Snare
Preston Sitton
 (970) 739-1539
preston_sitton@yahoo.com
Tenors
Kellan Costigan
(307) 399-0803
kellanc.27@gmail.com
Bass
Joel Nicholson
(970) 712-8039
jnight7@gmail.com
Cymbals
Adrianna Garcia
(970) 685-1466
foraagarcia@gmail.com

 

Roles & Responsibilities

Their are 3 levels of student leadership positions.  Some positions may be combined based on needs and student strengths. 

  • Captains (President, Drum Major, Visual - highest level of responsibility)
  • Managers (Facilities, Instruments, Uniform, Data, Music, Media - high level of responsibility)
  • Section Leaders (responsibility based on section size and/or other needs)

Link to details of Leadership Roles & Responsibilities (revised in 2017)

 

How to Become a Student Leader

Student interest in applying for a leadership position are required to read and know specific responsibilities associated with each position (link above).  All past members of the Maverick Stampede are eligible to apply and interview for a leadership position. Every student appointed to a leadership position will be required to attend short weekly meetings as necessary during the season, most of which will take place directly before or after regularly scheduled rehearsals. Student leaders also receive stipends (~$50-$300 depending on rank & responsibility) in recognition of efforts associated with these positions and for duties assigned by the director. This stipend will be in addition to marching band participation awards (if applicable). If you are NOT willing to take-on extra responsibilities associated with a leadership position and its title, do not apply. In the event student leaders do not follow-through with obligations associated with their positions, leadership responsibilities, titles, and stipends may be reduced or revoked at any time at discretion of the director.

Auditions and interviews leadership positions take place in early May prior to the fall marching band season. Applicants prepare and perform a 30-60 second excerpt of music on their preferred marching instrument. Excerpts should be selected from anything performed in the previous season and should demonstrate the student's best performance abilities. Music does not need to be memorized. Students will also bring their completed leadership application form (available for download below) to this interview. Percussionist may use practice pads and low brass players may perform on concert instruments. 

Students interested in applying for the position of Drum Major will need to speak directly with Dr. Hinkle and prepare for an additional short conducting and marching/visual audition. Drum Major candidates are encouraged to meet 1-on-1 with a past DM for details associated with this specific audition.

Student selected for leadership positions will be required to attend a mandatory spring meeting usually taking place during Final Exam week.