Student Leadership

 

Maverick Stampede Student Leaders

3 position levels.  Positions may be combined based on needs and student strengths. 

  • Captains (Drum Major, Band Captain, Visual Captain - highest level of responsibility/stipend)
  • Managers (Facilities, Instruments, Uniform, Data, Music, Media - high level of responsibility/stipend)
  • Section Leaders (responsibility based on section size or other needs)

All past members of the Maverick Stampede are eligible to apply for a leadership position, and are eligible to receive a stipend (~$100-$400) depending on responsibility and efforts associated with their position and duties assigned by the director.  Stipends are in addition to any athletic band scholarship awarded (if applicable).  At the discretion of the director (although rare), stipends, titles, and privileges of student leaders may be reduced or revoked in the event leaders do not follow-through with their responsibilities and obligations.  If you are NOT willing to take-on extra responsibilities associated with a leadership position and its title, do not apply.  

Selection of leaders are based on the application/interview/audition process AND past participation in the Maverick Stampede, academic standing, and commitment to the program.  Student should read and know specific responsibilities associated with each position before applying.  

Appointed leaders are required to attend short weekly meetings (as necessary) during the fall season, most of which will take place directly before or after regularly scheduled rehearsals.  There are also a few pre and post season meetings or activities where attendance is required. 

Fall 2018 Leadership Interview & Audition Schedule:

  • Final Week of Classes
    • Tuesday, May 1, 9am-6pm - Audition & Interview
    • Thursday, May 3, 4-6pm - Captain Auditions (Drum Major, Band Captain, Visual Captain)
      • conducting & marching auditions
      • group and individual settings
    • Friday, May 4, 12-1pm - Captains (only) meeting with Dr. Hinkle
    • Saturday, May 5, 9am-4pm - Drumline Audition, Line Setting, & Spring Rehearsal Day
      • Captains and Drumline Leadership attendance required
  • Final Exam Week
    • Wednesday, May 9, 3-5pm - Spring Leadership Meeting (attendance required)

Audition & Interview: 

  1. Dress nice, like a job interview.
  2. Bring completed leadership application form (typed or in best legible handwriting).
  3. Winds & Percussion - Prepare and perform a 30-60 second excerpt of music on your preferred instrument (marching or concert).  Excerpts should be selected from anything performed in the previous season and should demonstrate your best performance abilities. Music does not need to be memorized.  Percussionist may use practice pads.
  4. Guard - Prepare and submit a 30-60 second video of a solo performance routine to Dr. Hinkle (via Youtube link) prior to your interview.    

Drum Major, Band Captain, and/or Visual Captain applicants should communicate directly with Dr. Hinkle and prepare for an additional short conducting and marching/visual audition. These candidates are encouraged to meet 1-on-1 with a past Captain for details associated with this specific audition.

All student selected for leadership positions will be required to attend a mandatory spring meeting usually taking place during Final Exam week.  Failure to come to this meeting may immediately forfeit your ability to serve on the fall leadership team.

 

CAPTAINS

PHONE
EMAIL
Drum Major &
Band Captain
Darcy Dackonish
(970) 589-6657
ddackonish@gmail.com
Drum Major &
Visual Captain
Gabe Gallegos
(970) 250-3305
ggallegos2@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

MANAGERS

Facilities
Tori Welch
(720) 402-8305
Instrument
DeDe Mendez
(208) 954-4168
Uniform 
Payton Trahnstrom
(307) 349-2940
pltrahnstrom@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Uniform (asst.)
Sara Jurca
(970) 596-3375
sejurca@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Data 
Sadie Wagner
(720) 833-1363 
mswagner@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Music
Emily Axtell
(303) 906-9507
ejaxtell@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Media
Damian Johann
(970) 623-9058
damianjohann@gmail.com

SECTION LEADERS

Guard
Hannah Tallo
(970) 417-1340
Hannahlynnelizabeth@gmail.com
Flute
Kristen Solero
(719) 272-1929
kristen_solero@hotmail.com
Clarinet
Celeste Tovar
(970) 987-0905
ctovar-guzman@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Alto Sax
Shayna Lindblom
(970) 596-5314
shayna.lindblom@outlook.com
Tenor Sax
Damian Johann
(970) 623-9058
damianjohann@gmail.com
Trumpet
Noah Graf
(970) 773-1982
noah.fgraf@gmail.com
Trumpet
Caleb Talkington
(970) 985-1130
calebtalkington@yahoo.com
Mellophone
Brian Peterson
(720) 237-1139
brianp1997@hotmail.com
Trombone
Liz Wigdahl
(303) 748-0659
emwigdahl@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Baritone
DeDe Mendez
(208) 954-4168
dmendez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Sousaphone
Logan Jansens
(720) 315-3954
lmjansens@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Snare
Preston Sitton
 (970) 739-1539
preston_sitton@yahoo.com
Tenors
Kellan Costigan
(307) 399-0803
kellanc.27@gmail.com
Bass
Joel Nicholson
(970) 712-8039
jnight7@gmail.com
Cymbals
Adrianna Garcia
(970) 685-1466
foraagarcia@gmail.com