Student Leadership

2018 Stampede Leadership

Maverick Stampede Student Leaders

3 position levels.  Positions may be combined based on needs and student strengths. 

  • Captains (Drum Major, Band Captain, Visual Captain - highest level of responsibility/stipend)
  • Managers (Facilities, Instruments, Uniform, Data, Music, Media - high level of responsibility/stipend)
  • Section Leaders (responsibility based on section size or other needs)

2018 Leadership

CAPTAINS

PHONE
EMAIL
Band Captain
Preston Sitton
(970) 739-1539
preston_sitton@yahoo.com
Drum Major
Gabe Gallegos
(970) 250-3305
ggallegos2@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Drum Major & Visual Captain
Noah Graf
(970) 985-2103
noah.fgraf@gmail.com

MANAGERS

  
 
Facilities
Logan Jansens
(720) 315-3954
lmarinusj@gmail.com
Facilities (assistant)
Miguel Gutierrez
(970) 376-3284
miguelgutierrez461@gmail.com
Instrument
DeDe Mendez
(970) 712-1318
dmendez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Instrument (assistant)
Omar Hernandez
(970) 366-6262
omarcruz99@gmail.com
Uniform
Payton Trahnstrom
(307) 349-2940
pltrahnstrom@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Data 
Sadie Wagner
(720) 833-1363
mswagner@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Data (assistant)
Mikaela Sullivan
(970) 985-9940
masullivan@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Music
Emily Axtell
(303) 906-9507
ejaxtell@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Media - Website
Damian Johann
(970) 623-9058
damianjohann@gmail.com
Media - PR
Mckenzie Moore
(970) 424-2173
ziemoore2016@gmail.com
Preseason
Brittney Moschetti
(970) 712-6029
blmoschetti@mavs.coloradomesa.edu

SECTION LEADERS

 
 
Guard
Harley Galbasini
(970) 773-8830
harleygalbasini@gmail.com
Flute
Madilyn Slocomb
(970) 576-5428
mmslocomb@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Clarinet
Dominique Kennett
(719) 464-1728
drkennett@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Alto Saxophone
Colton Stumpf
(970) 903-4425
stumpf553@gmail.com
Tenor Saxophone
Chantz Syddall
(970) 424-2680
syddall139@gmail.com
Trumpet
Tori Welch
(720) 402-8305
vnwelch@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Trumpet (assistant)
Sam Betzen
(970) 589-0684
sambetzen96@gmail.com
Mellophone
Brian Petersen
(720) 237-1139
brianp1997@hotmail.com
Trombone
Kenny Lucero
 (970) 683-1933
kennypacheco13@yahoo.com
Baritone
DeDe Mendez
(970) 712-1318
dmendez@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Sousaphone
Natalie Houston
(970) 773-6077
nnhouston@mavs.coloradomesa.edu
Drumline
Preston Sitton
(970) 739-1539
preston_sitton@yahoo.com

All past members of the Maverick Stampede are eligible to apply for a leadership position, and are eligible to receive a stipend (~$100-$400) depending on responsibility and efforts associated with their position and duties assigned by the director.  Stipends are in addition to any athletic band scholarship awarded (if applicable).  At the discretion of the director (although rare), stipends, titles, and privileges of student leaders may be reduced or revoked in the event leaders do not follow-through with their responsibilities and obligations.  If you are NOT willing to take-on extra responsibilities associated with a leadership position and its title, do not apply.  

Selection of leaders are based on the application/interview/audition process AND past participation in the Maverick Stampede, academic standing, and commitment to the program.  Student should read and know specific responsibilities associated with each position before applying.  

Appointed leaders are required to attend short weekly meetings (as necessary) during the fall season, most of which will take place directly before or after regularly scheduled rehearsals.  There are also a few pre and post season meetings or activities where attendance is required. 

Fall 2018 Leadership Interview & Audition Schedule:

  • Final Week of Classes
    • Tuesday, May 1, 9am-6pm - Audition & Interview
    • Thursday, May 3, 4-6pm - Captain Auditions (Drum Major, Band Captain, Visual Captain)
      • conducting & marching auditions
      • group and individual settings
    • Friday, May 4, 12-1pm - Captains (only) meeting with Dr. Hinkle
    • Saturday, May 5, 9am-4pm - Drumline Audition, Line Setting, & Spring Rehearsal Day
      • Captains and Drumline Leadership attendance required
  • Final Exam Week
    • Wednesday, May 9, 3-5pm - Spring Leadership Meeting (attendance required)

Audition & Interview: 

  1. Dress nice, like a job interview.
  2. Bring completed leadership application form (typed or in best legible handwriting).
  3. Winds & Percussion - Prepare and perform a 30-60 second excerpt of music on your preferred instrument (marching or concert).  Excerpts should be selected from anything performed in the previous season and should demonstrate your best performance abilities. Music does not need to be memorized.  Percussionist may use practice pads.
  4. Guard - Prepare and submit a 30-60 second video of a solo performance routine to Dr. Hinkle (via Youtube link) prior to your interview.    

Drum Major, Band Captain, and/or Visual Captain applicants should communicate directly with Dr. Hinkle and prepare for an additional short conducting and marching/visual audition. These candidates are encouraged to meet 1-on-1 with a past Captain for details associated with this specific audition.

All student selected for leadership positions will be required to attend a mandatory spring meeting usually taking place during Final Exam week.  Failure to come to this meeting may immediately forfeit your ability to serve on the fall leadership team.