Welcome to Colorado Mesa University parent financial aid information page. We look forward to helping you through the financial aid process and invite you to contact us with any questions at 970.248.1396 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
NOTE: New this year, the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) will be available to complete on October 1, 2016 for the 2017-18 academic year. Also, new for this year, FAFSA is moving
to a prior-prior year model for tax information. This means that for the 2017-18 academic year, you will again use your 2015 tax information. If you have any questions regarding these changes, you
can call our office at 970.248.1369 or go to the FAFSA website for information.
- We communicate through the student's campus email and the MAVzone which is the campus portal. It would be helpful to remind your student to check these often and forward any important communications from the university to you.
- Student records are protected by the federal Family Educational Rights and Protection Act (FERPA). The FERPA web page will explain what our office can and cannot release to parents.
- Remind your student to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) each year. Parent's tax information and FSA ID signature is needed to complete the FAFSA and ANY subsequent changes.
- Students should apply for Colorado Mesa University scholarships by the deadline each year.
- Most undergraduate students are considered "dependent" for federal, state, and university aid up to age 24. However, communication from the university, including financial aid awards and tuition bills are sent directly to the student.
- Be sure to keep your FSA ID information in a safe place, as you will need this information in subsequent years. Remind your son or daughter of this also.
Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students (PLUS)
Who is eligible?
- Any credit worthy parent of a dependent student is eligible to apply
- A step-parent is eligible to apply only if his or her information was provided on the FAFSA.
- Grandparents and other relatives are NOT eligible
How do I apply for a PLUS loan?
The parent or step-parent applying for the loan will need to complete the Federal Direct PLUS (Parent) Authorization Form and submit it to the Financial Aid office for a credit check which takes up to 3 business days. The student must ACCEPT the Parent PLUS loan that they have been offered before the credit check can be submitted.
Do I need to complete a Loan Agreement (Master Promissory Note)?
Yes. The parent who completed the Federal Direct PLUS (Parent) Authorization Form will need to complete a "Loan Agreement for a PLUS Loan". This can be accomplished at Federal Student Aid using the Parent FSA ID. If you have completed a Master Promissory Note in the previous 10 years, you will not need to submit another one.
What is the current interest rate?
The Parent PLUS loan interest rate may change annually. The current rate can be found at studentaid.gov (be sure to scroll down the page to view the rates).
When does repayment start with Parent PLUS Loan?
Repayment typically begins 60 days after the final disbursement of the loan. Be sure to check with your loan servicer for more information. You can find the contact information for your loan servicer at National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS).
Is there a way to see what I have borrowed to date?
You can view your loan history at National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS).
The FSA ID gives you access to Federal Student Aid's online systems such as the FAFSA and loan information. This can also serve as your legal signature. The FSA ID replaces the PIN that was used in the past. The parent who will sign the FAFSA or will be seeking a PLUS loan will need to apply for one. You can apply for an FSA ID online. Once this has been established, you do not need to apply for one each year. It is very important to keep your user name and password, as you will need these in future years.