Skip to main content
The official hub for news and stories from Colorado Mesa University
Western Colorado Healthcare Leader Appointed to Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees

Colorado Governor Jared Polis appointed local medical professional and business leader to serve as new trustee

On December 16, Colorado Governor Jared Polis designated and appointed local medical professional and business leader Dr. Joyce Sekharan of Grand Junction, Colorado, to serve the state as the newest member of the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees.

Dr. Sekharan is a general and trauma surgeon, breast cancer program director for Saint Mary’s Hospital and chief medical director at Advance Skincare and Laser Center in Grand Junction. She earned her doctorate in 1996 from the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine and completed her residency in General Surgery at the University of Florida – Jacksonville. She currently serves on the Caprock Academy Board of Directors and has for five years. She has an interest in education and the unique value it brings to the greater Grand Junction community.

“I’m elated to join the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees and am honored to represent western Colorado and the healthcare industry. I look forward to being an active member with an eye for how CMU can continue to meet regional needs by producing more medical practitioners in areas where we need them the most,” said Dr. Sekharan.

Living nearly 20 years in the Grand Valley, Dr. Sekharan rounds out the board well with her western Colorado perspective and background in medicine.

“Dr. Sekharan is a valued member of this community and will play a vital role in leading Colorado Mesa University to meet the emerging healthcare and workforce needs of our state and community. We’re honored to have her and I look forward to hearing her unique perspective as we work to form the future of CMU,” said President John Marshall. 

Dr. Sekharan is a member of the Mesa County Medical Society and the Colorado Medical Society. She is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and has practiced in Grand Junction since 2003.

Governor Polis also reappointed Kasia Iwaniczko MacLeod and Daniel Ramos, both of Denver. The Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees includes 11 voting and two non-voting members. The voting members are appointed by the Colorado governor, confirmed by the Colorado State Senate and serve staggered terms.


Written by Kelsey Coleman