

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 4, 2021 UC 222 | Zoom (ID: 957 8457 4979)

Senators/Representatives participating:

David Collins, Ben Reigel, Brian Parry, Diana Bailey, Carlos Baldo, William Campbell, Michael Delaney, Ann Gillies, Eli Hall, Kristin Heumann, Adam Kluck, Kelly Krohn-Bevill, Kyle McQuade, Brad Montgomery-Anderson, Markus Reitenbach, Laureen Cantwell, Salina Edwards

Senators/Representatives absent from participation:

Tim Casey, Faculty Trustee

Guests:

Kurt Haas, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Amanda Lavelle, Department of Biological Sciences; Megan Sherbenou - Academic Policies Committee; Dee Chambers & Scott Andrews, Communication Studies – Department of Theatre Arts

Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recordist

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

President Collins called the meeting to order at 3:32pm. Collins requested senators and guests present sign the circulating attendance roster. Zoom attendees were noted by the minutes recordist.

CONSENT AGENDA II.

- Faculty Success Committee Minutes, September 10, 2021 A.
- B. Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee Minutes, October 6, 2021

Motion: to receive all items on the consent agenda. (Reitenbach/seconded); motion carried

III. **APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES FROM OCTOBER 21, 2021**

Discussion: The paragraph under the heading VII. New Business, B. Freedom of Speech Initiative in the minutes is a remnant from last senate meeting. It needs to be removed.

Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of October 21, 2021 with removal of VII. New **Business, B. Freedom of Speech Initiative.**

(Baldo/seconded); motion carried

IV. **COMMITTEE MINUTES AND REPORTS TO APPROVE**

A. Academic Policies Committee, Year-End Report, 2020 - 2021

Motion: to approve the Academic Policies Committee Year-End Report of 2020 - 2021. (Reigel/seconded); motion carried

V. **INFORMATION ITEMS**

Free Speech and Civil Discourse Committee Α.

President Collins has sent an email to CMU faculty alerting them to two motions passed by Faculty Senate introducing a free speech campus initiative. The email solicits qualified leadership for a new Ad Hoc Free Speech and Civil Discourse committee.

VI. CONTINUING BUSINESS

A. Distinguished Faculty Early Career Award

Collins led the discussion by suggesting parameters for this award. Concerns of the senate members centered on an equitable and sound evaluation process for determining the appropriate qualities of a deserving candidate.

Motion: to charge the Distinguished Faculty Award Committee to develop a new award aimed at early career faculty, where selected pre-tenure faculty and instructors with 6 or fewer years of service at CMU are awarded for high levels of achievement in all areas of evaluation.

(Reitenbach/seconded); motion carried

VII. NEW BUSINESS

A. Standing Committee Elections and Replacements

Vice President Reigel distributed ballots to the senators (both present and virtual) for electing new/replacement members to the Essential Learning Committee and the Distance Learning Committee.

Senators voted, and ballots were returned to Reigel for tallying.

B. Sabbatical Leave Committee Composition

According to the policies and procedures manual the committee membership "...shall be composed of three faculty members from each Senate group, from different departments, appointed by Faculty Senate. At least one faculty member from each group shall have had a sabbatical from CMU."

The requirement of each group having a sabbatical-certified representative is not possible to maintain with the current CMU faculty population.

Motion: to ask the Sabbatical Leave Committee to report on to what extent prior sabbatical leave experience is a necessary quality to serve on the committee. (Reigel/seconded); motion carried

VIII. REPORTS

A. CFAC Report, Brian Parry

The next CFAC meeting is Friday, November 12th.

B. Vice President Report, Benjamin Reigel

The results of today senate vote for those available seats on senate standing committees:

- · Jacob Ongaki now serves the Essential Learning Committee.
- · Christi Sanders Via is the newest member of the Distance Learning Committee.

C. Student Government Report, Salina Edwards

ASG Vice President Edwards updated the senators on the latest activities of the student government. Her report will be made available in today's meeting folder on the R: drive.

D. Executive Committee Report, Diana Bailey

The Executive Committee met with President Marshall on October 26th and discussed the Freedom of Speech Initiative and the Distinguished Faculty Early Career Award.

E. Faculty Trustee Report

Collins mentioned Casey's report on the R: drive available via today's meeting folder.

F. President's Report, David Collins

No Report.

G. VPAA Report, Kurt Haas

VPAA Haas informed senators that Academic Affairs is taking a look at the Honors Program, considering formalizing institutional requirements in addition to departmental requirements. Haas welcomes any feedback from faculty members.

IX. ADJOURN

Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of November 4, 2021 (Hall/seconded); motion carried

Meeting adjourned at 4:37pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recordist