

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 13, 2021 DH 211 and Zoom Meeting

Senators/Representatives participating:

David Collins, Ben Reigel, Diana Bailey, Michael Delaney, Ann Gillies, Carmine Grieco, Eli Hall, Adam Kluck, Kelly Krohn-Bevill, Kyle McQuade, Brad Montgomery-Anderson, Rick Ott, Suzanne Owens-Ott, Johnny Snyder, Anne Bledsoe (proxy for Laureen Cantwell), Brian Parry

Senators/Representatives absent from participation:

ASG Representative

Guests:

Kurt Haas, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Morgan Bridge, Assistant Vice President of Academic Affairs for Assessment and Accreditation; Eric Elliot, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee; Holly Teal, Registrar; VP John Marshall and Dr. Amy Bronson, Co-Chairs of Safe Together/Strong Together Team; Ann McDonald, Distance Learning & Technology Committee; Wayne Smith, Chair–WCCC Undergraduate Curriculum Committee; Dan Schultz-Ela, Chair–Distinguished Faculty Award Committee; Tim Casey, newly elected Faculty Senate Trustee for term 2021-2022

Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recordist

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

President Collins called the meeting to order at 3:34pm. Collins noted attendees in the room; the minutes recordist noted Zoom attendees electronically.

II. NEW BUSINESS – Part 1

A. Summer/Fall 2021 COVID Adaptations, VP John Marshall and Dr. Amy Bronson Co-chairs Marshall and Bronson updated senators about shifts to CMU's infrastructure in administering protocols as the response needs to COVID-19 change. The STx2Team will monitor vaccination levels in anticipation of reaching herd/conferred immunity levels and continue assessing how any modifications to established protocols are affecting campus safety.

III. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Assessment Committee Minutes, March 4, 2021
- **B.** Faculty Success Committee Minutes, February 12, 2021
- C. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes, April 22, 2021
- D. Combined Curriculum Committee Year End Report, 2020 2021
- E. WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes, March 9, 2021
- F. WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes, April 13, 2021
- G. Faculty Success Committee Year End Report, 2020 2021

Motion: to receive all seven items listed on the consent agenda.

(Reigel/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

- IV. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES FROM APRIL 15, 2021 Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of April 15, 2021. (Bailey/seconded); motion carried unanimously.
- V. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES FROM APRIL 28, 2021 Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of April 28, 2021. (Reigel/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

VI. COMMITTEE MINUTES AND REPORTS TO APPROVE

A. Distinguished Faculty Award Committee Annual Report, 2020-2021 Motion: to approve the Distinguished Faculty Award Committee Annual Report of 2020-2021 (Hall/seconded); motion carried unanimously

VII. CONTINUING BUSINESS

- A. Faculty Senate Executive Elections
 - ... Reigel nominated David Collins to continue serving as Faculty Senate President for term 2021-2022. Collins was elected by unanimous senate vote
 - ... Hall nominated Brian Parry to serve as Faculty Senate President Elect President for term 2021-2022. Parry was elected unanimous senate vote.
 - ... Bailey nominated Ben Reigel to continue serving as Faculty Senate Vice President for term 2021-2022. Reigel was elected by unanimous senate vote.
 - ... Reigel nominated Diana Bailey to continue serving as Faculty Senate Secretary for term 2021-2022. Bailey was elected by unanimous senate vote.
- **B.** Trustee Elections
- Tim Casey was elected by faculty colleagues to serve as faculty representative on the CMU Board of Trustees for the term 2021-2023.

VIII. NEW BUSINESS – Part 2

A. Expedited Approval of WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes Motion: to expedite the approval of the two sets of minutes from today's Consent Agenda, Items E. & F., WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes of March 9, 2021 & of April 13, 2021, to be voted via email one week from now. (Hall/seconded); motion carried unanimously

B. CMU Presidential Search

President Collins offered senators the opportunity to discuss the results of the presidential search. No discussion ensued.

IX. REPORTS

A. CFAC Report, Brian Parry

Representative Parry shared highlights from CFAC minutes with the senators. The minutes will be posted on the R: drive for senators to read in depth at their leisure.

B. Vice President Report, Benjamin Reigel

No Report

C. Student Government Report

No Report

D. Executive Committee Report, Diana Bailey No Report

E. Faculty Trustee Report, Suzanne Owens-Ott

Last Board of Trustees meeting is next Friday

F. President's Report, David Collins

Before adjourning for the academic year, President Collins extended his thanks to all the committees and committee chairs for their work this year. Senators Snyder, Grieco and Ott, who have finished their allotted terms with Faculty Senate, were also recognized for their service to their colleagues. Lastly, Collins acknowledged Owens-Ott for her representation of the faculty on the Board of Trustees

G. VPAA Report, Kurt Haas No Report

ADJOURN Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of May 13, 2021 (Ott)

Meeting adjourned at 4:24pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recordist

X.