

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes March 4, 2021 DH 211 and Zoom Meeting

Senators/Representatives participating:

David Collins, Ben Reigel, Diana Bailey, William Campbell, Kelly Krohn-Bevill, Michael Delaney, Ann Gilles, Carmine Grieco, Eli Hall, Adam Kluck, Kyle McQuade, Brad Montgomery-Anderson, Rick Ott, Johnny Snyder, Suzanne Owens-Ott, Anne Bledsoe (proxy for Laureen Cantwell), Logan Taylor, ASG CFO (proxy for Angel Bautista)

Senators/Representatives absent from participation:

Brian Parry

Guests participating:

Wayne Smith, WCCC Undergraduate Curriculum Committee; Eric Elliot, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee; Eric Watters, Graduate Curriculum Committee Morgan Bridge, Assistant Vice President of Academic Affairs for Assessment and Accreditation; Dan Schultz-Ela, Chair–Distinguished Faculty Award Committee; Ana Berrizbeitia, Assessment Committee; Carlos Baldo; Assistant Professor of Business Management – Department of Languages, Literatures & Mass Communication

Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recordist

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

President Collins called the meeting to order at **3:31pm**. Collins requested senators attending in person to sign the attendance roster; the minutes recordist, noted Zoom attendees electronically.

II. CONSENT AGENDA

A. Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee Minutes, December 7, 2020

B. Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee Minutes, February 17, 2021

Motion: to receive all items on the consent agenda. (Hall/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

III. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 18, 2021

Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of February 18, 2021. (Montgomery-Anderson/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

IV. COMMITTEE MINUTES AND REPORTS TO APPROVE

A. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes, January 28, 2021 Motion: to approve the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes of January 28, 2021. (Owens-Ott/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

B. Faculty Success Committee Minutes, October 2, 2020 Motion: to approve the Faculty Success Committee Minutes of October 2, 2020. (Reigel/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

C. Assessment Committee Minutes, December 4, 2020

Motion: to approve the Assessment Committee Minutes of December 4, 2020. (Montgomery-Anderson/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

D. WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes, February 9, 2021

Motion: to approve the WCCC Curriculum Committee Minutes of February 9, 2021. (Campbell/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

V. CONTINUING BUSINESS

A. CMU Presidential Search, Suzanne Owens-Ott

Owens-Ott shared the current status of the search, including the number of applicants, how many applicants come from within the university, and the ranking process. There are a number of Zoom interviews scheduled involving the narrowed list of candidates and various stakeholders, including faculty. Owens-Ott provided details of the faculty session scheduled for March 17, including registration requirements for attendance.

B. Wellness Speaker Committee

Several appropriate speakers have been located to address faculty on wellness. More information will be forthcoming from the committee.

C. Mental Wellness and Expectations Committee

The committee will meet tomorrow.

D. Faculty Senate Constitution and Bylaws Amendments

President Collins requested that senators email items within the constitution and by-laws that need to be addressed by Faculty Senate.

E. CMU Ceremonial Mace

There is a need to replace the mace—it still refers to Mesa State College. The cost for replacement is estimated to be \$2,000.00. A discussion ensued about how to guide the design of a new mace. Senator Hall will take the lead working with the student-design proposal and subsequent details.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Standing Committee Manual Amendments

Motion: to change the department name under "Senate Group B" on page 3 in the manual from "Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics" to "Computer Science and Engineering."

(Montgomery-Anderson/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

Motion: To remove the sentence from the Distinguished Faculty Award Committee nomination procedures on page 10: "Those not chosen must be re-nominated to be considered in subsequent years."

(Hall/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

VII. REPORTS

A. CFAC Report, Brian Parry

No report.

B. Vice President Report, Benjamin Reigel No report.

C. Student Government Report, Logan Taylor

ASG's MAV award nominations are now open. Currently the number of nominees for each category are sparse. Senators and their colleagues are encouraged to nominate. Go to <u>https://coloradomesa.presence.io/</u>, select "Forms" from the header menu and click on "MAV Award Nominations.

Tickets are now available for the Lu'au next week.

D. Executive Committee Report, Diana Bailey No report.

E. Faculty Trustee Report, Suzanne Owens-Ott No report.

F. President's Report, David Collins No report.

G. VPAA Report, Kurt Haas

Haas updated senators on vaccine availability for CMU faculty and staff. He also provided Handbook Committee updates, including the impact of Title IX regulations on related information provided by the handbook.

VIII. ADJOURN

Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of March 4, 2021 (Montgomery-Anderson)

Meeting adjourned at 4:22pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recorder