

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes September 19, 2019 UC 221

Senators/Representatives in attendance:

Johnny Snyder, Kelly Krohn-Bevill, Kristen Hague, Diana Bailey, Josh Butler, David Collins, Michael Delaney, Lisa Friel-Redifer, Carmine Grieco, Pam Holder, Adam Kluck, Rick Ott, Benjamin Reigel, Thomas Walla, Brian Parry, Suzanne Owens, Laureen Cantwell

Senators/Representatives absent:

Beau Flores, Angel Bautista

Guests in attendance:

Kurt Haas, VPAA; Morgan Bridge, Asst VPAA of Assessment & Accreditation; Olga Grisak, Assessment Committee; Scott Vangemeren, Health Sciences; Jennifer Hancock, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee—Chair

Minutes Recorder: Melinda J. Scott

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

The meeting was called to order by President Johnny Snyder at 3:32pm, requesting all present to sign the circulating Roll Call sheet.

II. CONSENT AGENDA

A. Assessment Committee Meeting Minutes, May 3, 2019

Motion: to receive item on the Consent Agenda. (Collins/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

III. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES FROM 9/5/19

Motion: to approve the Senate Minutes of September 5, 2019. (Butler/seconded); motion carried by majority with one abstention.

IV. COMMITTEE MINUTES AND REPORTS TO APPROVE

A. Assessment Committee Meeting Minutes from 4/5/19

Motion: to approve the Assessment Committee Meeting Minutes of April 5, 2019. (Grieco/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

B. Assessment Committee Report to Faculty Senate Academic Year 2018-2019

Motion: to approve the Assessment Committee Report to Faculty Senate for Academic Year 2018-2019.

(Owens/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

C. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes from 8/22/19

Motion: to approve the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes of August 22, 2019. (Butler/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

Discussion: The UCC Chair office hours are in Escalante Hall, room 120 on Tuesday from 11amnoon and Wednesday from 1pm-2pm.

V. CONTINUING BUSINESS

A. President-Elect

President Snyder requested that the senators contact him regarding any candidates interested in the position of president-elect.

B. Performance Bonus

Information received by President Snyder today will be reviewed with the Senate at the next meeting.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Voting for Committees

i) Bill and Mai Robinson Lecture Committee

Amy Bronson is the only candidate to indicate an interest in this committee.

Motion: to elect Amy Bronson to the Bill and Mai Robinson Lecture Committee. (Kluck/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

ii) Retirement Committee

Eleven candidates have presented themselves for the one position available on the Retirement Committee. Snyder briefly reviewed each candidate's online bio for the benefit of the senators. Secretary Hague passed ballots out to the senators. Elena Rodriguez was removed from the ballot as she was not listed on the CMU website. Hague recounted the duties of the Retirement Committee. Senators voted and ballots were collected by Hague. Jacob Ongaki was subsequently declared the winner.

B. Committee Appointments

Vice President Kelly Krohn-Bevill presented three candidates who are willing to fill vacancies for the following committees: Faculty Success (Jenne Baldwin-Eaton), Salary & Benefits (Megan Englund) and Sabbatical Leave Committee (Greg Baker)

Krohn-Bevill has created a color-coded document and stored it in the Senate Standing Committees 2019-2020 file in the Official Senate Documents subfolder of the Faculty Senate folder on the R: drive. Utilizing "Committee Summary By Dept," senators may see at a glance who serves on what committee and what positions are still vacant.

Motion: to appoint Jenne Baldwin-Eaton, Megan Englund and Greg Baker to the respective committees as noted.

(Butler/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

VII. REPORTS

A. CFAC, Brian Parry

[Handout: "Colorado Faculty Advisory Council Meeting Report: 13 September 2019"] Representative Parry shared copies of his report with the senators.

B. Vice President, Kelly Krohn-Bevill

No report.

- **C.** Student Government: Beau Flores, President & Angel Bautista, Vice-President No report.
- **D.** Executive Committee, Kristen Hague

No report.

E. Faculty Trustee, Suzanne Owens

No report.

F. President, Johnny Snyder No report.

G. Update from Academic Affairs, Kurt Haas

Year to year comparisons show that the amount of merit pay has declined, and the administration is considering ways to reinvest the money with faculty. One idea is to lift the current ceiling on department travel funds so that more funding is available. In terms of this year's distribution of merit pay, there was clustering at the high end of rankings, which was expected.

President Snyder will make the histogram available on the R: drive. Any ideas senators have about use of surplus monies should be forwarded to him.

VIII. ADJOURN

Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of September 19, 2019 (Butler/seconded).

Meeting adjourned at 4:15pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recorder