

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes February 6, 2020 UC 222

Senators/Representatives in attendance:

Johnny Snyder, Kelly Krohn-Bevill, Diana Bailey, Josh Butler, David Collins, Michael Delaney, Cynthia Chovich (proxy for Lisa Friel-Redifer), Carmine Grieco, Adam Kluck, Rick Ott, Benjamin Reigel, Kyle McQuade, Brian Parry, Suzanne Owens, Laureen Cantwell

Senators/Representatives absent:

Kristen Hague, Pam Holder, Beau Flores | Angel Bautista

Guests in attendance:

Kurt Haas, VPAA; Chris DeLeon, Editor-in-Chief–Criterion; Brian Hosterman, Faculty Success Committee; Lucy Graham, Chair–Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recorder

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

The meeting was called to order by President Johnny Snyder at 3:32pm. Snyder welcomed guests and reminded all present at the meeting to sign the attendance roster.

II. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Faculty Success Minutes, October 15, 2019
- **B.** Faculty Success Minutes, November 12, 2019
- C. UCC Minutes, November 14, 2019
- **D.** UCC Minutes, December 12, 2019

Motion: to receive all items on the consent agenda. (Ott/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

III. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES FROM 12/5/19

Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of December 5, 2019. (Owens/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

IV. COMMITTEE MINUTES AND REPORTS TO APPROVE

A. GCC Minutes, November 13, 2019

Motion: to approve the Graduate Curriculum Committee Minutes of November 13, 2019. (Collins/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

B. LAC Minutes, November 11, 2019

Motion: to approve the Library Advisory Committee Minutes of November 11, 2019. (Bailey/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

C. DFAC Minutes, October 25, 2019

Motion: to approve the Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee Minutes of October 25, 2019.

(Owens/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

V. CONTINUING BUSINESS

A. Student Course Evaluation Form Discussion

As more courses move to online delivery, some questions on the evaluation form may need changing. It is assumed that the final authority regarding the questions included on the evaluation form is Academic Affairs, but the VPAA would also welcome faculty input. Several options for reviewing and updating the evaluation questions were discussed. Snyder will draft a survey instrument for campus-wide faculty and present to Faculty Senate at the next meeting. After collecting faculty input on the evaluation questions, an ad hoc committee will be formed to consider the input as questions are revised. This item will remain on "Continuing Business" for the next meeting's agenda.

B. President-Elect

Motion: to nominate Faculty Senator David Collins as President-Elect. (Butler/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Faculty Success Committee–Collegiality Award (Discussion)

Faculty Success Committee member Brian Hosterman updated the senators on the committee's efforts to formalize a collegiality award.

Any faculty member may be nominated by a peer—the nomination is to be accompanied by a paragraph-long reflection on what qualifies the nominee for the award. The plan is to launch the Collegiality Award when Fall 2020 term begins. Faculty Success Committee will continue working on the finer details (i.e., what the award entails, where and when to submit nominations, the venue for presenting the award, etc.) and present to Faculty Senate later this semester.

VII. REPORTS

A. CFAC Report, Brian Parry

No report. The first CFAC meeting of the year is next week in Denver. Parry will present his report at the next Faculty Senate meeting. Snyder noted that the term of the CFAC Representative position is not defined in the Faculty Senate committee handbook. (Nor is the term of the Catalog Description Evaluator.) Snyder will revisit this issue at a later meeting.

B. Vice President Report, Kelly Krohn-Bevill

No report.

C. Student Government Report No report.

D. Executive Committee Report, Kristen Hague

No report, as Secretary Hague was absent from the meeting.

E. Faculty Trustee Report, Suzanne Owens

Owens was unable to attend the Faculty Trustee meeting held in Denver. She did share with the senators that twelve CMU faculty members were awarded promotion, eleven faculty members have been granted tenure, five faculty received sabbatical leave approval and tenure faculty presentations have commenced.

F. President, Johnny Snyder

Members of the "secret committee" have been appointed for selection of the faculty member to receive Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Faculty Senate has had a rollover of \$5,000.00 in discretionary funds. What would senators like to do with it? Snyder suggested a new mace design for Faculty Senate might be in order. He welcomed senators' input.

G. Update from Academic Affairs, Kurt Haas

The Board of Trustees has been impressed with the newly tenured faculty presentations

VPAA Aparna Palmer will be sending out a feedback survey on the Inclusivity and Diversity Workshops that were held recently. The Handbook Committee will begin its work in the coming week.

VIII. ADJOURN

Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of February 6, 2020 (Butler).

Meeting adjourned at 4:06 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recorder