

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes March 16, 2017 UC 221

Senators/Reps in attendance:

Johnny Snyder, James Ayers, Dan Schultz-Ela, Josh Butler, Lisa Friel-Redifer, Kristen Hague (replacement for TJ Gerlach), Kristopher Dietrich (proxy for Megan Glynn Zollinger), Chad Middleton, Keith Fritz (proxy for Elizabeth Sharp), Sarah Swedberg, Thomas Walla, Anne Bledsoe, Cody Armstrong

Senators/Reps absent:

Megan Glynn Zollinger, Darin Kamstra (sabbatical), Karen Urban, Elizabeth Sharp

Guests in attendance:

Cynthia Pemberton, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Morgan Bridge, Chair – 2017 Higher Learning Commission Assurance Review Steering Committee; Joseph Richards – 2017 Higher Learning Commission Assurance Review Steering Committee; Don Carpenter, Chair – Graduate Curriculum Committee; Lisa Driskell, Vice Chair – Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Minutes Recorder: Melinda J. Scott

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL BY SIGN-IN

The meeting was called to order by President Johnny Snyder at 3:32pm. President Snyder welcomed guests and reminded senators and guests to sign the circulating Roll Call sheet.

II. CONSENT AGENDA

- **A.** Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes (2/23/17)
- **B.** Essential Learning Committee Minutes (2/22/17)

Motion: to receive the items on the consent agenda. (Swedberg/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

President Snyder welcomed new Senator Kristen Hague from the Department of Languages, Literature and Mass Communication as TJ Gerlach's replacement.

III. APPROVE FACULTY SENATE MINUTES of 3/2/17 MEETING

Motion: to approve the Faculty Senate minutes of March 2, 2017. (Swedberg/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

IV. STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES TO APPROVE

A. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Minutes (1/26/17)

Discussion: Vice-Chair Lisa Driskell was present to address any questions the Senators might have about the meeting minutes.

Motion: to approve the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee minutes of January 26, 2017. (Avers/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

B. Graduate Curriculum Committee Minutes (2/22/17)

Discussion: Chair Don Carpenter attended to answer any questions from the Senators about the meeting minutes. Carpenter stated, "Graduate education is on the cusp of thriving."

Motion: to approve the Graduate Curriculum Committee minutes of February 22, 2017. (Butler/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

V. NEW BUSINESS

A. Higher Learning Commission Update, Morgan Bridge, Joseph Richards

The chair of the 2017 Higher Learning Commission Steering Committee, Dr. Bridge, gave a Power Point presentation to the senators. She reviewed the HLC accreditation process and noted how CMU stands in meeting the various criteria.

B. Faculty Qualifications, Cynthia Pemberton

VPAA Pemberton reviewed the latest copy of the minimum qualifications matrix [subsequently renamed Interpretive Guidance] that will be presented to the CMU Board of Trustees and be included in the interpretive guidance section of the Professional Personnel Employee Handbook. A request was made to VPAA Pemberton that Faculty Senate be able to revisit the minimum qualifications matrix.

VI. OLD BUSINESS

A. Statement on Immigrant Students, Sarah Swedberg

The Associated Student Government opted not to sign the statement at this time. (President Linzey would like the statement to be "more personable" in its language—as the ASG is looking to be more visible/approachable on campus.) President Snyder will present the statement at the next Executive Committee meeting.

Motion: to adopt the "Statement on Immigrant Students."

(Swedberg/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

Motion: to post the adopted "Statement on Immigrant Students" on the Faculty Senate website.

(Swedberg/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

Motion: to submit the adopted "Statement on Immigrant Students" to the Criterion and the Daily Sentinel for publication.

(Swedberg/seconded); motion carried unanimously.

VII. REPORTS

A. CFAC and VP report, James Ayers

CFAC Representative Ayers attended the meeting of Friday, March 10, 2017 remotely. He noted that there was a definite distinction between the Department of Higher Education and faculty responses in the discussion regarding how think about student success.

There was no report from the Faculty Senate Vice President.

B. Student Government Report, Cody Armstrong

Representative Armstrong apprised the senators of current ASG business, including the commencement of the ASG election process.

C. Executive Committee Report, Dan Schultz-Ela

The discussion by the executive committee about faculty qualifications was well covered in this faculty senate meeting.

D. Faculty Trustee Report, Aparna D.-N. Palmer

Faculty Trustee Palmer updated the senators on the last CMU Board of Trustees meeting.

E. President's Report, Johnny Snyder

The new Engineering Department has self-selected to serve as representatives in Faculty Senate group B. The changes will be included in an updated Standing Committees Policies and Procedures Manual to be submitted to Faculty Senate for approval.

There are three outstanding charges to standing committees: two to the Academic Policies Committee and one to the Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee.

F. Update from Academic Affairs (Cynthia Pemberton)

VPAA Pemberton had nothing to report.

VIII. ADJOURN

Motion: to adjourn the Faculty Senate meeting of March 16, 2017 (Ayers). Meeting adjourned at 4:58pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda J. Scott, Minutes Recorder