2019-20 Theatre and Dance Performances

Sponsored by Chuck and Robbie Breaux and Chevron

Skip the Line - Buy Now > 800.410.MAVS > Send Me More Info! >

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Thank you to our media sponsors:

The Vault 100.7Magic 93.1KNZZ 1100 AM, 103.9 The Planet, 95.7 The Monkey

Announcing the 2019-20 Theatre and Dance Season - tickets available in August 2019

A 50th Anniversary: Inquiry, Discovery, Celebration
It's the 50th anniversary of the construction of our performing arts building! Help us celebrate and reflect on seasons past while looking forward to the future of theatre and dance in the Grand Valley.

Morning Noon Evening Night
August 23-25
Our perception of a new environment - its sounds, smells and sights - is affected as much by when we encounter it as it is by the place itself. Morning, Noon, Evening, Night is about how each time of day precipitates a drastically different perception of our environment, its aural world, and our perceived essence of the moment. The title of the piece speaks to the time of day which the characters and audience experience during the performance: 6am, 12pm, 6pm, and 12am. The audience will be privy to their inner thoughts. However, the performers will not speak. Their dialogue and a sound-scape will be projected into bone conduction headphones worn by the audience members. An experiential event by Matthew Schlief which premiered at the Prague Quadrennial the summer of 2019.

God of Carnage
September 6-7

First Date
September 19-28
When blind date newbie Aaron is set up with serial-dater Casey, a casual drink at a busy New York restaurant turns into a hilarious high-stakes dinner. As the date unfolds in real time, the couple quickly finds that they are not alone on this unpredictable evening. In a delightful and unexpected twist, Casey and Aaron’s inner critics take on a life of their own when other restaurant patrons transform into supportive best friends, manipulative exes and protective parents, who sing and dance them through ice-breakers, appetizers and potential conversational land mines. Can this couple turn what could be a dating disaster into something special before the check arrives?

Bravo Cabaret Series: Rodgers Before Hammerstein (American Songbook Series)
October 18-19
This is the final cabaret in our three-year American Songbook cycle. Everyone knows the music of famous Golden Age duo Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, but this cabaret focuses on the catalogue of over 500 songs created by Rodgers while working with Lorenz Hart — “My Funny Valentine,” “The Lady is a Tramp,” “Where or When” and “I Could Write a Book.” This night will also feature songs by Jerome Kern, many of which were written with Oscar Hammerstein — “All the Things You Are,” “I Won’t Dance” and “Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man of Mine.” 

Pride and Prejudice
October 31-November 9
Marriage is an inevitable fact of life for the five Bennet sisters – Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty, and Lydia. With the family estate entailed away to their closest male cousin, their only hope to advance in life is to find a rich and single man – and one has just arrived in the form of the very handsome and very well-off Charles Bingley. The kindhearted and beautiful Jane seems poised to make a match, but must contend with her overly zealous mother, his snobbish sister, and a slippery social ladder. And when Bingley's taciturn friend Fitzwilliam Darcy shows an interest in the opinionated and spirited Elizabeth, the situation becomes more complicated than either of them expect. The fire and wit of Jane Austen's classic 1813 romance shines through in this vibrant new adaptation.

Discovering ME: The Fall Dance Concert
November 15 & 16
Discovering Me is an embodied exploration focusing on unpacking, disentangling and understanding the multiplicity and uniqueness of the self. Featuring diverse original works from faculty, guest artist and selected student choreographers, this concert offers an insight into how we present, define and represent ourselves as individuals. 

Jacob Marley’s Christmas Carol
December 13-15 
You know the story of A Christmas Carol’s Ebenezer Scrooge, but whatever happened to his even “scroogier” business partner, Jacob Marley? Chained and shackled, Marley is condemned to a hellish eternity — that is, unless he can save the soul of Ebenezer Scrooge. In this one-man show, a desperate Marley sets out on a journey of laughter and redemption. This irreverent and deeply moving story retells the Charles Dickens' classic with warmth and hilarity. 

Fiddler on the Roof
February 27-March 7
Set in the little village of Anatevka, the story centers on Tevye, a poor milkman, and his five daughters. With the help of a colorful and tight-knit Jewish community, Tevye tries to protect his daughters and instill them with traditional values in the face of changing social mores and the growing anti-Semitism of Czarist Russia. Rich in historical and ethnic detail, Fiddler on the Roof's universal theme of tradition cuts across barriers of race, class, nationality and religion, leaving audiences crying tears of laughter, joy and sadness.

Someone Who'll Watch Over Me
March 27-28
An American doctor and an Irish journalist are being held captive by terrorists in Beirut. Joined by an English academic, the three clash over their national biases and prejudices, bond and protect themselves using shared humor and lament what was lost in their lives before captivity. Each comes to know himself through listening to the stories, sorrows and joys of the others as they learn to survive together and alone. 

The Wolves
April 9-18
Left quad. Right quad. Lunge. A girls’ indoor soccer team warms up. From the safety of their suburban stretch circle, the team navigates big questions and wages tiny battles with all the vim and vigor of a pack of adolescent warriors. A portrait of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness for nine American girls who just want to score some goals.

Celebrating WE: The Spring Dance Concert
April 24 & 25
Celebrating We features diverse original works from faculty, guest artist, and selected student choreographers that revel in our connections as a community.  The energy and exchange we create through movement will be seen, shared, and experienced through various lens of how our community defines who ‘we’ are. 

Bravo Cabaret Series: Unlikely Broadway
May 9 • Charlie Dwellington's
One of the first questions when casting a Broadway musical is that of type — does the performer’s gender, age, race, and look match that of the character? It doesn’t matter if you can sing the hell out of that character’s songs — if one or more of those type tags don’t match up, your chance of being cast is “unlikely”. But for this cabaret, we’re singing those songs that we’ll never get hired to sing. Boys will sing girls’ songs; girls will sing boys’ songs – and that’s just the beginning! The Best Party in Town returns again to Charlie Dwellington’s for a night of powerful singing and hilarious results! 

Bravo Cabaret Series: That Song is So Gay!
June 21 • Charlie Dwellington's
Kick off Colorado West Pride week with us as we celebrate songs created or made famous by members of the LGBTQ community! Students, alumni, and community members will join the Doug Morrow Trio for an afternoon of laughter, tears, and a whole lot of PRIDE!